Quam pellentesque nec nam aliquam sem et tortor consequat id. Vitae tempus quam pellentesque nec nam aliquam sem et tortor. Integer malesuada nunc vel risus commodo viverra.  Dui id ornare arcu odio ut sem nulla. Amet venenatis urna cursus eget. Id porta nibh venenatis cras sed felis. Ac orci phasellus egestas tellus rutrum tellus pellentesque eu tincidunt. Adipiscing commodo elit at imperdiet. Ipsum nunc aliquet bibendum enim facilisis gravida neque. Lacus luctus accumsan tortor posuere ac.

Most frequent question – Customer

By default, TOGAF 9 certifications are confidential so are not shown on the public register. You will be able to change this by updating your confidential status from within the resource centre from your account at https://togaf9-cert.opengroup.org

There is no renewal required once you have obtained certification in the TOGAF 9 Certification program.

Occasionally we are unable to contact you due to an incorrect email address when you registered for the exam. If after 6 working days you have not been contacted please email togaf-cert-admin(at)opengroup(dot)org.

This can take up to 6 working days. The Open Group typically receives your exam result after 2 days from Prometric, and then needs to process the result. Please note that The Open Group offices are closed on the weekend.

Exam results are sent from Prometric to The Open Group. Upon receipt, they are processed and then The Open Group emails you with information on how to login to the web certification system at The Open Group to complete your certification.

The topic areas are weighted so that there are more questions in key areas of the syllabus, for example in the TOGAF 9 Part 1 examination the four topic areas: ADM Phases, ADM guidelines and techniques, Enterprise Continuum and Tools, and Architecture Governance comprise 60% of the questions.

The eleven topic areas covered by the TOGAF 9 Part 1 examination together with the number of questions per area in the examination follows:

  • Basic Concepts (3 questions)
  • Core Concepts (3 questions)
  • Introduction to the ADM (3 questions)
  • The Enterprise Continuum and Tools (4 questions)
  • ADM Phases (9 questions)
  • ADM Guidelines and Techniques (6 questions)
  • Architecture Governance (4 questions)
  • Architecture Views, Viewpoints and Stakeholders (2 questions)
  • Building Blocks (2 questions)
  • ADM Deliverables (2 questions)
  • TOGAF Reference Models (2 questions)

The syllabus for the TOGAF 9 Part 2 examination is all the learning outcomes. The exam samples the learning outcomes with eight scenarios and eight questions.

The eight questions are drawn from the following topic areas:

  • ADM Phases: Project Establishment (phases Preliminary, A, Requirements Management)
  • ADM Phases: Architecture Definition (phases B,C,D)
  • ADM Phases: Transition Planning (phases E and F)
  • ADM Phases: Governance (phases G and H)
  • Adapting the ADM
  • Architecture Content Framework
  • TOGAF Reference Models
  • Architecture Capability Framework

No, the certification policy has a minimum period before you can retake an examination. This is currently one month. If you retake before that period your test result will be void. This applies to all TOGAF 9 examinations, so for example, if you fail the Part 1 section of the TOGAF 9 Combined Part 1 and Part 2 examination, you would still need to wait at least one month before taking the Part 1 examination, similarly for the Part 2.

The Combined Part 1 and Part 2 examination is designed for candidates who want to go to TOGAF 9 Certified without the intermediate step of TOGAF 9 Foundation, and who want to take both papers in one examination session. If you take the exams separately and only pass Part 1 you will be awarded TOGAF 9 Foundation. If you take the Combined Exam, and fail a section, you will need to retake the failed section(s) before certification will be awarded.

The following sections detail the eligibility requirements. Note that ineligible candidates will be disqualified from the exam and no fees refunded.

TOGAF 9 Part 1 exam

There are no prerequisites for the TOGAF 9 Part 1. Any and all candidates are thus eligible to take this examination.

TOGAF 9 Part 2 exam

A candidate must be certified to TOGAF 9 Foundation or have achieved a pass result for the TOGAF 9 Part 1 examination on the same day at the same ATTC provider as they are taking the Part 2 examination.

For candidates not taking the Part 1 exam in the same session, a candidate must have a TOGAF 9 Foundation entry in the Directory of Certified People at http://www.opengroup.org/togaf9/cert/register.html or have passed at least the Part 1 section of the Combined examination.

Candidates are obliged to provide their Personal Conformation Code to the ATTC provider if they have set their directory entry to confidential.

TOGAF 9 Combined Part 1 and 2 exam

There are no prerequisites for the TOGAF 9 Combined Part 1 and 2 Exam. Any and all candidates are thus eligible to take this examination.

Candidates who fail an examination are not allowed to re-set ANY TOGAF 9 Certification examination again for a period of one (1) month. A result received before one month will be VOID.

The exams are what you need to pass to reach a certification qualification. There are a number of examinations providing paths to become TOGAF 9 Certified. This is explained further below.

TOGAF 9 Foundation – To provide validation that the candidate has gained knowledge of the terminology and basic concepts of TOGAF 9 and understands the core principles of Enterprise Architecture and TOGAF

TOGAF 9 Certified – To provide validation that in addition to knowledge and comprehension, the candidate is able to analyze and apply knowledge of TOGAF

You first need to decide the level you would like to study for, and then after a period of study, attending a training course or by self-study, take the applicable examinations.

  • It ensures that individuals are knowledgeable about TOGAF
  • It is a common baseline of knowledge
  • It provides a visible trust mark

It is available for online reading or download at https://www.opengroup.org/togaf

It lasts perpetually forever.

The TOGAF certification program licenses the use of the term “TOGAF 8” together with The Open Group Certification Mark in association with Certified Offerings. This provides the necessary legal framework to maintain the value of TOGAF to enterprise customers. The value to licensees is the ability to use the term “TOGAF ” together with The Open Group Certification Mark in association with products and/or services that support the TOGAF framework and its Architecture Development Method.

In addition, The Open Group publishes and publicizes the definitive register of TOGAF certified offerings, and issues certificates that can be used by the vendor in promotion.

Individuals are also entitled to membership of the Association of Enterprise Architects (AEA) at no additional cost (http://www.globalaea.org/)

TOGAF Certification is for both individuals and organizations. Individuals can become certified by demonstrating their knowledge of The TOGAF framework either by attending a training course or passing an examination test. Organizations can have their products (TOGAF Tools or Training Courses), and services certified.

Customers who wish to base their IT architecture work on the open, industry standard TOGAF framework can now procure tools, training, and the services of consultants (individuals and integrators) on the basis of certified conformance with the TOGAF standard.